2010 NFL Draft Gets a Boost as Underclassmen Deadline Passes

Former heisman winner Oklahoma QB Sam Bradford was one of the bigger underclassman to declare for the 2010 NFL Draft

One of the bigger days on mine and other draft gurus’ calendars passed this week as the 2010 NFL Draft underclassmen deadline was on Friday, January 15, 2010 at 4 PM EST.  This deadline is important because every year the upper echelon of the draft is boosted by talented underclassmen.

The deadline is for players 3 years out of high school, mostly college redshirt sophomores and juniors. Remember there have also been rare cases of players like former Cardinals defensive tackle Eric Swann (6th overall pick in the 1991 NFL Draft) who have no college experience, but who are just coming of draft age. 

This year there were 53 underclassmen who declared, led by former Heisman Trophy winning Oklahoma QB Sam Bradford and Florida cover corner Joe Haden.  However declaring underclassman should keep in mind that in the 2009 NFL Draft there were only 41 underclassmen selected compared to 215 seniors.  Some encouraging news though is that 15 underclassmen, including first overall pick Detroit Lions QB Matthew Stafford, went in the first round.


Sam Bradford, Oklahoma
Jimmy Clausen, Notre Dame
Jevan Snead, Ole Miss

Running Backs:

Toney Baker, North Carolina State
Jahvid Best, Cal
Jonathan Dwyer, Georgia Tech
Toby Gerhart, Stanford
Stafon Johnson, Southern Cal
Darius Marshall, Marshall
Ryan Mathews, Fresno State
Shawbrey McNeal, SMU
Joe McKnight, USC

Wide Receivers:

Chris Bell, Norfolk State
Arrelious Benn, Illinois
Dezmon Briscoe, Kansas
Antonio Brown, Central Michigan
Dez Bryant, Oklahoma State
Carlton Mitchell, South Florida
Golden Tate, Notre Dame
Demaryius Thomas, Georgia Tech
Damian Williams, USC
Mike Williams, Syracuse

Tight Ends:

Jermaine Gresham, Oklahoma
Rob Gronkowski, Arizona
Aaron Hernandez, Florida

Offensive Line:

Bryan Bulaga, Iowa
Bruce Campbell, Maryland
Anthony Davis, Rutgers
Maurkice Pouncey, Florida

Defensive Line:

Kevin Basped, Nevada
Carlos Dunlap, Florida
Clifton Geathers, South Carolina
Thaddeus Gibson, Ohio State
Everson Griffen, USC
Jerome Hayes, Penn State
Reshad Jones, East Carolina
Abe Koroma, Western Illinois
Gerald McCoy, Oklahoma
Derrick Morgan, Georgia Tech
Jason Pierre-Paul, South Florida
Brian Price, UCLA
Jason Worilds, Virginia Tech


Navorro Bowman, Penn State
Rennie Curran, Georgia
Rolando McClain, Alabama

Defensive Backs:

Eric Berry, Tennessee
Morgan Burnett, Georgia Tech
Dominique Franks, Oklahoma
Joe Haden, Florida
Kareem Jackson, Alabama
Reshad Jones, Georgia
Joshua Moore, Kansas State
Jerell Norton, Arkansas
Dennis Rogan, Tennessee
Amari Spivey, Iowa
Earl Thomas, Texas
Donovan Warren, Michigan
Major Wright, Florida

Lloyd Vance is a Sr. NFL Writer for Taking It to the House and an award-winning member of the Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA).


Author: lloydvance

Lloyd Vance is a NFL Writer, Analyst, Draft Expert, Researcher, and Historian. He serves as a Editor for "Taking It to the House and he covers the NFL on a daily basis. He is an Accredited Member of NFL Media and Philadelphia Eagles Media. Member of the Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA), Pro Football Researchers Association (PFRA), and The Maxwell Football Club

One thought on “2010 NFL Draft Gets a Boost as Underclassmen Deadline Passes”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: